Past Forward-A Serial Novel: Volume 2

Past Forward- A Serial Novel: Volume 2 by Chautona Havig

Alone without friends or family to comfort her after the death of her mother, Willow Finley’s idyllic life is over—and just beginning.

When Willow Finley awakes on a hot summer morning, she is unprepared for the grief that awaits her. Jerked from a life of isolation with her mother, Willow learns what alone really means when she finds her mother still in her bed, never to awaken again in this life.

From the moment Willow arrives in the police station with her startling announcement, Chad Tesdall fights the friendship he knows he can’t avoid.

This collection includes episodes six through nine of Past Forward. Willow, battling grief and anger, drives Chad from the farm, but he finds himself drawn back, despite her determination to keep a wall between them. An accident and the chance of a lifetime threaten everything she thought she held dear. As the walls crumble, Chad and Willow’s friendship deepens into something truly special, but to what end? Everyone around him pushes Chad into a relationship he both wants and fights, knowing that Willow simply is not ready.

Someone is wreaking havoc around her farm. Afraid for Willow’s safety, the police take turns guarding her place when off duty and she finds it hard to endure the disruption of her tranquility.

And then, Chad asks her to dance. Can she trust him? Find out in this second volume.

Follow as Willow’s story unfolds past forward.

Past Forward is a serial novel released weekly on Kindle.

Past Forward-A Serial Novel: Volume 2 is the collection of episode six through nine of this serial novel. If you don’t like reading in little snippets this is for you. Encompassing about three hundred pages its novel length and the story isn’t even over. If you missed any episode since five this is also for you. The drama is revved up in this volume.

At first I was so disbelieving that Willow would be that naïve. Then I remember that she IS that naïve. Then it was like WOW. We live in a world, which the public has fostered us, to be intrusive on Public Figures’ personal lives.

More so than the previous volume I feel like a voyeur, reading about the development of a woman kept in captivity. I’m excited that she’s starting to adjust to being around larger groups. Even when nothing’s really happening I’m too invested to be disappointed.

When Christmas takes place its interesting how Chautona Havig addresses Willow’s isolation during the holidays. Her apparent naïveté to Christmas traditions is refreshing as a seven year old on Christmas Day. Willow’s grandparents are one of the “elephants in the room.” Their characterizations fall into the suspected coloring with their previous introduction to the reader. I’m shocked at the deceitfulness and depravity that doesn’t become known until the nearing of this volume.

It wasn’t until Aggie and the kids came over for Christmas that I realized this was interconnected in the same world as Chautona’s other works. There’s a plot developing subplot that I just can’t figure out it purpose. I don’t understand the motives of the character that’s driving this device or why.

I give Past Forward-A Serial Novel: Volume 2 4 out 5 Gs.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2012, 4, Book Review, Havig, Chautona, Romnce

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s