Past Forward- A Serial Novel: Volume 1

Past Forward-A Serial Novel: Volume 1 by Chautona Havig

Alone without friends or family to comfort her after the death of her mother, Willow Finley’s idyllic life is over—and just beginning.

When Willow Finley awakes on a hot summer morning, she is unprepared for the grief that awaits her. Jerked from a life of isolation with her mother, Willow learns what alone really means when she finds her mother still in her bed, never to awaken again in this life.

From the moment Willow arrives in the police station with her startling announcement, Chad Tesdall fights the friendship he knows he can’t avoid.

This collection of the first five episodes of Past Forward starts with Willow’s life-changing discovery and gently guides the reader through aspects of her life–the past weaving through the present and into the future. Experience her first morning in church, her first movie, and the culture shock of her first trips to the city. A birthday party and a street faire add welcome diversion from butchering, canning, and the beating of area rugs. Disaster strikes. Will she be able to continue her life, or will an offer in the city change it all? Find out in this first volume.

Follow as Willow’s story unfolds past forward.

Past Forward is a serial novel released weekly on Kindle.

Past Forward-A Serial Novel: Volume 1 is the first five episodes of Chautona Havig’s thoroughly engrossing serial novel released weekly. These first five introduce us to Willow Anne Finley, a character whose character and upbringing illuminated just how convoluted out lives really have become.

There’s a quote something like “You can never have time, if you never take time.” This is the philosophy of Willow’s life. Kari, her mother, has raised her in an almost Amish life style. They are as self-sufficient as one’s in modern society can be. Together they developed their own world. When Kari died it shattered.

This world they created isn’t without problems, this introduce Chad Tresdall, a sheriff’s deputy on the Fairbury force. It’s through his eyes that we see Willow. It’s their friendship that is the driving force behind these first five episodes and the new experiences that Kari’s misguide ways sheltered Willow from.

For me it was a journey that I looked forward to read. During the fourth and fifth episode I lost my uncle, he left as sudden as Kari. It helped me to empathize with Willow more. As Willow finally started to process her mother’s lost, I was in the throes of grief. These past couple of weeks, it wasn’t just an amazingly written story. It’s an escape for me to clear my head and read about how this character is continuing their life after a lost.

If you have missed any episodes or you want to catch up, this is the perfect for you. At the time of this writing there is only one more episode out, Episode 6. I hope you find the time to join the rest of us, Past Forward.

I give Past Forward-A Serial Novel: Volume 1 4 out 5.


Leave a comment

Filed under 2012, 4, Book Review, Havig, Chautona, Novel, Serial

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s